A Friend In London

A Friend In London top 20 songs


A Friend In London biography

A Friend in London (also known by the acronym AFIL) are a Danish indie pop/rock band formed in 2005 in Vostrup, Denmark. In 2008, the band won the European leg of the Bodog Million Dollar Battle of the Bands in 2008, qualifying for the final round in the United States. However, along with other finalists, the band withdrew from the competition, due to the contractual aspects the organizers wanted to impose on the participants. In 2011, A Friend in London took part in Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2011 with the song New Tomorrow. The band ended up winning the contest and went to represent Denmark in the Eurovision Song Contest 2011, finishing 5th in a field of 43 participants. The band released its debut ful-length album, Unite, in January 2013. The album was preceded by three singles, namely New Tomorrow, Calling a Friend and Get Rich in Vegas. Co-inciding with the album release, the band released the single Rest from the Streets (feat. Carly Rae Jepsen). In 2012, prior to the release of the album, the band supported New Kids on the Block and the Backstreet Boys during the European leg of the groups' co-headlining NKOTBSB Tour. This resulted in the band re-recording "New Tomorrow", featuring Howie D. of the Backstreet Boys. This version of the song was featured on the EP A Friend in London 2012 EP, released in June 2012, and was later also included as a bonus track on the Deluxe Version of Unite. The original line-up of A Friend in London was Tim Schou (lead vocals, guitar), Sebastian Vinther Olsen (guitar, backing vocals), Aske Damm Bramming (bass, backing vocals) and Esben Svane (drums, backing vocals). In April 2013, Bramming and Svane left the band. In January 2014 , the band has come to an end.

Please write a few words