Machines Of Loving Grace

Machines Of Loving Grace top 20 songs


Machines Of Loving Grace biography

Machines of Loving Grace was an industrial rock band from Tucson, Arizona, United States. Formed in 1989 as Machines of Loving Grace (named for a Richard Brautigan poem), the original lineup consisted of Scott Benzel (vocals), Stuart Kupers (guitar and bass), and Mike Fisher (keyboards), with Brad Kemp (drums) added shortly thereafter. Mammoth Records released their demo as the band's label debut without any rerecording in 1991. Their self-titled album Machines of Loving Grace was followed by two EP singles- Rite of Shiva and 1992's Burn Like Brilliant Trash which featured Trent Reznor remixes. Two years later, the band released Concentration. It continued their signature sound, but was more refined in the combination of beat- and bass-heavy riffs, with hard edged guitar. With the release of two videos, the band was able to get national-level MTV airplay, and join in the industrial rock wave that was ushered in by Nine Inch Nails. 1994 saw a new song by the band, Golgotha Tenement Blues featured on the soundtrack to The Crow. In 1995, Machines of Loving Grace released their third album, Gilt. This record was marked by an increased guitar presence. New band members included David Suycott (formerly of Stabbing Westward and Spies Who Surf) on drums, Ray Riendeau (bass) and Tom Coffen (guitar). The song Richest Junkie Still Alive was included on the soundtrack to Hackers. The song Tryst was released on the ill-fated MegaMan Soundtrack. Furthermore, various mixes of three of their songs—Perfect Tan, Butterfly Wings, and Lilith/Eve—were featured on the '95 horror Devour. Butterfly Wings was also featured on the television show Due South, in the episodes Chicago Holiday and Flashback. In 1997, the band was working on a new record, but before it was completed the band broke up. This was precipitated by trouble at the label, and Benzel's desire to work on other projects, among other reasons. A new album was to be called Love Scenes at the Slave Market, but after a fruitless search for a label (Mammoth was in the process of being sold), the project was abandoned. As of 2006, Benzel is involved with an electronic band called Soulo. Mike Fisher is currently with Amish Rake Fight. In 2008, Butterfly Wings from 1993's Concentration was featured on the soundtrack of the motion picture Punisher: War Zone. Previous Members: Scott Benzel: vocals (1989-1997) Stuart Kupers: guitar and bass (1989-1995) Mike Fisher: keyboards (1989-1995) Brad Kemp: drums (1989-1995) Ray Riendeau: bass (1995-1997) David Suycott: drums (1995-1997) Kevin Doc Sullivan: keyboards (1995-1997) Discography: Studio Albums 1991 - Machines of Loving Grace 1993 - Concentration 1995 - Gilt Remix EPs 1991 - Rite of Shiva 1992 - Burn Like Brilliant Trash Singles 1991-1992 -- X-Insurrection -- Rite of Shiva -- Burn Like Brilliant Trash 1993 -- Perfect Tan (Bikini Atoll) -- Butterfly Wings -- If I Should Explode 1994 -- Golgotha Tenement Blues 1995-1996 -- Richest Junkie Still Alive -- Suicide King

Please write a few words