Obsidian Kingdom

Obsidian Kingdom top 20 songs


Obsidian Kingdom biography

Obsidian Kingdom is a music project from Barcelona. The band plays hard-to-classify heavy music with plenty of contrasts. Its main features are the use of multiple sound resources in order to portray a wide range of emotions; a deep interest for aesthetics and the mise-en-scène; and the sombre and cryptic quality of their lyrical topics. Defying both tradition and their Black Metal origins, Obsidian Kingdom continue to tread their own path in an untiring search for their own unique style, aside from convention or style boundaries. The band’s debut, "Mantiis – An agony in fourteen bites" (2012), is a conceptual album featuring a single song divided into fourteen tracks which flow through different genres. With a progressive character and a post-modern approach, its influences can be traced from the melancholy of Akira Yamaoka to the heaviness of Cult of Luna, including the experimental style of Ulver or Pink Floyd sound’s heritage. It has been mastered by Jens Bogren (Opeth, Katatonia) and its artwork has been curated by Ritxi Ostáriz (Ihsahn, Ulver) and Elena Gallen (Kulte, VICE). One year after Mantiis’ release, Obsidian Kingdom puts out a remix album: "Torn & Burnt - the Mantiis Remixes" (2013). Featuring astounding reworks of seven tracks from Mantiis, signed by artists as renowned as Oktopus (Dälek), Subheim, Poordream, Necro Deathmort, Jr Morgue, Drumcorps, Larvae and Mothboy. In April 2014, the band signed to the French label Season of Mist, which will re-issue Mantiis and release Obsidian Kingdom's two following records.

Please write a few words