Ola Podrida

Ola Podrida top 20 songs


Ola Podrida biography

Ola Podrida is the Austin band headed up by film composer David Wingo. The band formerly resided in Brooklyn, where after the release of their self-titled debut album they built up a loyal following and twice toured Europe in 2007, culminating in a performance at the All Tomorrow's Parties festival in Minehead, UK. In 2009 Wingo moved back to his former home of Austin, TX and released the second Ola LP BELLY OF THE LION on Western Vinyl. Upon his return to Austin Wingo put together a new lineup featuring David Hobizal (drums), Colin Swietek (guitar) and Matt Clark (bass) and after touring Spain and the US in support of the album, the band took some time off before beginning to work on the songs that would comprise the third Ola Podrida album, GHOSTS GO BLIND. While the songs still retain the intimacy of Wingo's previous efforts, the new band gives them a much wider dynamic range, and with Wingo ditching the acoustic guitar for the most part, it's safe to say that Ola Podrida has moved past the indie-folk of the previous two albums into completely new territory with the new album.

Please write a few words