Omni Trio

Omni Trio top 20 songs


Omni Trio biography

Omni Trio is the alias of producer Rob Haigh, known for a unique style of highly musical ambient drum and bass, and primarily associated with the Moving Shadow label. Omni Trio was one of the original drum and bass producers, who first released for Moving Shadow as early as 1993. He produced several massive anthems in the period now known as "old skool", including the piano-led "Renegade Snares" and "Thru the Vibe". Both these featured on his first LP, The Deepest Cut 1995, UK (released in the US as Music For The Next Millenium), which is recognised as one of the first drum and bass albums. He followed up quickly with Haunted Science in 1996, which included well known tracks like "Trippin' on Broken Beats" and "Nu Birth of Cool". Mainstream trends in dancefloor-oriented drum and bass rapidly diverged from his style, and subsequent albums Skeleton Keys (1997), Byte Size Life (1999), and Even Angels Cast Shadows (2001) produced no big hits on the scale of his early singles, but they further cemented his reputation as one of the finest album-oriented musicians in drum and bass. Indeed, he was the first artist in the genre to produce five full-length artist albums. Rob Haigh's final album under the alias Omni Trio was Rogue Satellite (2004) which was only released on CD, although the sampler appeared on vinyl. Omni Trio's last release is a remix of 808 by oS released in 2005.

Please write a few words